Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

QuickTime

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by Ghetto Blasta, Oct 29, 2002.

  1. Ghetto Blasta

    Ghetto Blasta Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    OK, I feel like a real moron asking this, but here goes.

    How do you uninstall QuickTime on OSX/9.1?

    See, I rarely use macs. Pretty much only when forced to. So when it comes to things that a rabid monkey might not be able to do on a mac, I have trouble. Gimmie a PC, and I'm good, but macs.... I dunno
     
  2. Ghetto Blasta

    Ghetto Blasta Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Actually, let me ask a more specific question. I have the newest version of free QuickTime, whatever number they're up to now. I also have QuickTime Pro 4.1 that I need to install. Apparently I need to uninstall the free version before I can install Pro but OS 9.1/X don't seem to want to help me or give me any clues on how to do that.
     
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    quicktime comes preinstalled on most macs. if you don't have it you can download the installer here ( http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/ ).

    quicktime 4 pro keys will not work on quicktime 6 (the latest version). you will need to buy the pro key again for $30 if you want pro features.
     
  4. Ghetto Blasta

    Ghetto Blasta Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well that certainly puts a damper on things.
    So there's no way I can use QuickTime Pro 4 then?
     
  5. Rhys

    Rhys Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    command-F for find
    enter quicktime
    trash everything it finds

    but you need to find a qt4 installer, probably find one on an older system installer CD.
     
  6. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    you can't download the installer for it anymore, and i doubt it will work in the latest versions of OS 9 and any version of OS X.
     
  7. mud

    mud Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    If I remember correctly, QT 4 was the worst of the bunch.
     
  8. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    not in os x. quicktime 5 is part of the OS
     
  9. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    the quicktime installer is web-based, so theres no way you could get an older version unless somebody uses tome viewer to pull it from an old classic OS CD.
     
  10. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    versiontracker used to offer the complete installer for older versions of quicktime, including qt4. i don't know if they still do that. regardless, they take off the download when a new version comes out.
     

Hitometer: 54,653,339 since 1995