Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

iBook Memory Upgrade

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by filburt1, Sep 6, 2002.

  1. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I have 256 MB on an iBook 600 running 10.2. Will an upgrade to 384 MB make a significance difference?
     
  2. harleyb

    harleyb Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    9
    Market Rating:
    0
    it'll make a difference, probably a noticeable one.
     
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i don't think it will make a difference... unless you are running programs that use a lot of RAM and you don't have enough. RAM doesn't speed up a computer, it only increases its capacity for running programs.
     
  4. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Quake 3 in OS 9 native? Will be better? Yes? No? Question Marks?
     
  5. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well if an app is running out of physical RAM and starts using virtual memory then installing more RAM would speed up your system. When running that app that is. Course this is pretty obvious.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    if speed is relative, yes. :p

    but it doesn't increase your core frequency or fsb / RAM speed which is what i consider to be the speed of the computer.
     
  7. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    The amount of RAM can help physical speed in that respect. 512 is rapidly becoming the standard and my 256 is starting to feel the strain.
     
  8. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    More ram = more space for data that can be accessed very quickly = less hard drive access = more speed.

    Now if you're using some program that's slow because it needs to load everything into memory, but you have tons of it, adding more memory wont help. It will only help in cases where the application is using all the ram available and having to overwrite data that's been placed in the ram, which it will have to load back into the ram soon after.

    So if you're playing a game, and it's slow, and there's no hard drive accessing going on when it's slow. Then adding ram wont help you. If your disk is constantly thrashing loading new textures while in quake 3 then adding ram probably will help. But this only applies after a bit of playing because the data still has to be loading into memory at the beginning in both instances.
     
  9. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Good point, Cow. :)

    How can I tell how much phys ram/vram is in use in 10.2? top just shows me a flood of data and the only relevant things I can pick out are pid, process name, and CPU usage. Fun combining top with kill. :)
     
  10. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Of course there's no HDD indicator light :rolleyes:
     
  11. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i think the word you guys are looking for is "efficiency," not speed.
     
  12. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    The efficiency it brings is faster speed at loading things into memory since the memory is not virtual. So it's both. Speed doesn't have to mean CPU, it can mean other things.
     
  13. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
  14. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    OMG SPEED IS NOT A VECTOR BECAUSE IT ONLY HAS MAGNITUDE AND NOT DIRECTION.

    And the novelty pics are no longer funny because everyone is using them.
     
  15. harleyb

    harleyb Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    9
    Market Rating:
    0
    ps. ps aux shows all process, ps ux shows user processes, ps uxww/auxww shows the full process path, and you can search through processes with ps auxww | grep someprocess. ps shows useful stuff, like the user running the process, the pid, the cpu usage, the memory usage, and even the time it was started and how long it's been running for
     
  16. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    It's a function of efficiency but it directly relates to the time a process can take to complete. If you're constantly working with a page file then you'll get stuttering that's like playing with fps in the teens.
     
  17. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    no no no

    we have a 256MB ram chip. we are able to store up to 256MB of data in the ram chip and move that around the system at 100MHz (speed of the ram and bus). now we put another 256MB for a total of 512MB. the data is not moving any faster, it's just that we can store more data in fast memory at once.

    it's like a jaguar with two gas tanks. having two gas tanks doesn't make the car go any faster, but it does make it so you don't have to stop for gas as often (page file)... you can just keep going because you can... oh no i've gone cross-eyed.

    and cow is right, the forum pics are no longer funny ;)
     
  18. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yes, I know how throughput works, that's a total given. I'm not saying more RAM gives more throughput, but it prevents pagefile usage which degrades game performance in almost the same way (relative to the gamer) as low frames per second. The game stutters as it loads, the screen freezes momentarily, as if the fps had dipped to like 10 or so. It has an affect on overall speed, not bus speed but speed for the gamer's perception, and since we're so into real-world benchmarks I think this is quite relevant.
     
  19. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    more efficient handling of data held in RAM. :nod:
     
  20. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Of course it's efficient, but it still translates directly into speed in the real world.
     

Hitometer: 54,600,878 since 1995