Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

How do I share files between computers?

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by SuperStar, Sep 17, 2002.

  1. SuperStar

    SuperStar Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I have 3 different iMacs in my house and would like to share files between them. How would i go about doing so? (Yes, I am a n00b)
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    connect them all using ethernet. get a ethernet hub or switch to plug all the cables into. enable file sharing in your control panels / system prefs (OS X). create users on all the computers in your control panels / system prefs. share some folders.
     
  3. SuperStar

    SuperStar Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Oh so i gotta have one of them. Alright thx.
     
  4. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Make sure that you get the proper cabling. RJ-45 10baseT ethernet cable. Straight not crossover.
     
  5. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    You can also do it via Firewire on the newer Macs (at school our G3 tower wouldn't do this but the G4 (prequicksilver) would but they were both running OS 9).

    1. Connect the two comptrars together using a firewire 6-pin to 6-pin cable
    2. Hold down T on the host computer during bootup
    3. The host computer's main hard drive only will show up mounted on the desktop of the guest comptrar.
     
  6. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'd get cat5e cabling. High quality, less collision and higher speeds.
     
  7. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yes, that's what I use.
     
  8. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    not less collision. you will always get collision.
     
  9. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    or with out a router and/or hub you can connet the computers 1 by one to each other...will take a lil longer but you don't need to spend money(unless your thinking of a permant network)
     
  10. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hey, I'm just reading the package.

    Actually I meant interference, ME SHO SHORRY! :korean:
     
  11. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    yeah, you will get less interference if you get STP
     

Hitometer: 54,585,196 since 1995