Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Firewall and B Net

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by Mentosman24, Dec 27, 2002.

  1. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    For Starcraft:

    I can access my firewall fine, I have the username and password, but where do I go to allow port 6112, and how do I do it?

    I'm using a Soho Sonicwall Firewall, if that helps at all (I'm assuming all firewalls are different).
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    most hardware network devices like that have http control panels... you type in the IP address of the device into your web browser, like http://192.168.1.1/ . you can set port forwarding from there.
     
  3. SuperStar

    SuperStar Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yep thats what mine is. '192.168.1.1' although some are 192.168.1.0 hrm.
     
  4. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    It doesn't matter. You can find out what your router is by opening a Windows command prompt and typing 'ipconfig'.
     
  5. SuperStar

    SuperStar Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Oh. Well my routers dumb and umm doesnt forward correct. :D
     
  6. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Firewall, not router
     
  7. SuperStar

    SuperStar Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    ok this is the last time i post early in the morning. hoof Router - firewall what the hell am i thinking. :crazy:
     
  8. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    that's cuz your house needs it's own damned tech crew including a server administrator.

    4 comp's and a PS2 lol.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2002
  9. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I can get access to my firewall through 192.168.0.1
     
  10. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    Good. Now some firewalls have pre-settings for big ports like b.net... just look in 'Special Applications' if you have it, if not, open the port 6112 and check the TCP box, not UDP (right???).
     
  11. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    No, Starcraft uses both protocols.
     
  12. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok, well then open 6112 in both protocol forms.
     
  13. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    i've had a similar problem, where i open up bnet's port, and can log and chat and stuff, but when i join a game, it throws out a different ip, which is not opened up, which gives me a failed to join game. so, i unplugged it lol.
     
  14. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    This Firewall is just completely FUBAR IMO anyway. I'll just unplug it while I play some SC matches.

    /Jakeman haXors mentos, and realizes that haXoring a supremely haXored machine causes his to spontaneously combust *POP*
     
  15. BesigedB

    BesigedB Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    HUH WTF I POSTED SOMETHING EARLIER :(

    My problem was that with two people playing on battle.net from behind the same network the game becomes unplayable (really jerky).

    When the second person on my network left the game speeded up to normal level.

    With only one person, even with nothing fowarded, it works fine.

    Any ideas?

    - B
     
  16. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    Necromancer :p . I was having the same problem on my schools network. Try getting the computers as close to each other as possible, get IP addresses that are 'next to' eachother, use a switch if you have one, or skip every other port on a hub, set the latency to low, turn off music and animated portraits err... I guess thats all I can say right now... Well, one more thing, make sure that your network activity isn't high before you even start playing so that you know that traffic isn't causing the problems
     
  17. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    i cant even get 2 comps to join the same game on mine, kinda ticks me off.
     
  18. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    If it's going to two computers behind a firewall it'll probably be because of collision. Battle.net is sending data back to both of your computers on the same port, since the IP addresses of your computers are masked to bnet it can't send them directly; it just sends the data to your firewall and lets it sort it out. The result is tons of packet collision and dropping.
     
  19. BesigedB

    BesigedB Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    ta cow :(
     

Hitometer: 54,723,659 since 1995