Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

apple script help

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by 0111000001100100, Apr 11, 2003.

  1. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    when scripting for the terminal, how do i make it use a specific window, instead of just making a new window? heres an example

    Code:
    tell application "Terminal"
    
    	do script with command "sudo" in window "1"
    
    end tell
    
    is this right?...well obviously not or i wouldn't be posting here heh.
     
  2. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    ahh now i get an error:

    "terminal got an error:
    NSArgumentEvaluationScripError:

    what does that mean?
     
  3. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    eeeew, applescript.

    I only know perl.
     
  4. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    alot of help that does me... :p
     
  5. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,761
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i only know php and C++

    hi :stupid2:
     
  6. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Can OS X do shell script?

    ...I would say do it with that.
     
  7. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yip.
     

Hitometer: 54,668,526 since 1995