Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

USB mostly good

Discussion in 'Mac' started by filburt1, Jul 26, 2002.

  1. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    The G4 I'm getting obviously has tons of USB ports, but a cubemate in my office has a webcam with an old connector (Apple Serial or whatever it was called). Does the G4 have a serial connector?
     
  2. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    no, there's one you can buy that replaces your internal modem though. there are a few USB -> serial adapters but none of them work very well.
     
  3. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    It has two. I wouldn't call that tons.

    Mine has six USB 1.1 ports and four USB 2.0 ports for a combined total of ten USB ports.
     
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    all the USB to serial adapters are crap, none of them work very well. your best bet is to buy a USB webcam for ~$50.
     
  5. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    You guys make me feel so inferior. I only use one USB port. (not counting the mouse in my keyboard) :cry:
     
  6. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Re: Re: USB mostly good

    Any details?
     
  7. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
  8. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
  9. MisterHalleck

    MisterHalleck Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    15
    Market Rating:
    0
    If the webcam is old enought to use ADB or a serial connection then wouldnt u need to have Classic running to use the cam? and even then it might not work in combination with Carbon apps...
     
  10. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    True...but I could always run it in the OS 9 VM.

    Thanks, people :)
     

Hitometer: 53,847,885 since 1995