Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Upgrade

Discussion in 'PC Forum' started by cowofwar, May 17, 2005.

  1. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    I got a 6800 a while ago so I'm stuck with AGP for the time being until I replace that card with something pci-e.

    Now i've been looking into a couple possible upgrades:

    1. New ram/motherboard/cpu ~$400 CDN
    I will go from 1gig ddr 300 to 1gig ddr 400 (or higher depending on ram quality) and from a 2.4ghz (1.6a overclocked) to a 3.0ghz (possible overclock will depend on cpu). The motherboard is basically what I have but a newer chipset.

    Advantage is if I plop down another $40 for a case/psu I can build a second computer with all my spare bits.

    2. New LCD range of money
    Would be nice but they're still expensive and my 19" CRT still works fine.

    3. Laptop
    Most expensive option, I think i'm just entertaining myself with the idea.


    What do you think? Cost worth the performance gain? It would let me play battlefield 2 which is always nice.
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Replace your 2.4 P4 with a 2.4 Athlon. Huge upgrade in game performance.
     
  3. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    I've always gone with Intel, they say amd is better for games but I'm unfamiliar with the platform since I've never built a computer around it before.

    I was going to go with the abit AI7 since i'm an abit whore and that board has everything i need in a good price range. Got a suggestion for an equivalent abit amd board?

    I need AGP, that's pretty much the only restriction.

    Also what's the best athlon chip right now? 64? XP? Which socket? 939 754?
     
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Athlon 64 or FX (the highest Athlon 64). Socket 939. The dual core ones will be out soon (Athlon X2).

    I don't know of any good AMD boards. I am just getting into AMD myself.
     
  5. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Only the Athlon 64's are good though. The original Athlon was nice in 1998, but the Athlon XP was really getting old and behind. Now Intel's the one that's getting old and behind with the P4 refreshers (80-90 watts, anyone?). So at this stage a Socket 939 is the best route to take, especially for games. Plus you're future proof with a 64-bit capable chip that can still run the 32-bit OS, and Socket 939 is the new Socket A - it will be AMD's standard socket for years to come. Don't get a P4. Don't get an AMD that isn't Socket 939.
     
  6. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yeah so basically the best fit seems to be:

    ABIT AV8 3RD EYE MOTHERBOARD K8T800PRO ATHLON64 S939 DUAL DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1394 SOUND 1000LAN

    For the motherboard. Only abit amd board that has AGP and athlon64 s939 support. The others are pci-e.

    AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S939 VENICE 1.8GHZ 512K L2 CACHE 90NM RETAIL BOX

    For the cpu. 3200+ is faster but this one is cheaper and the venices overclock well so I'm sure I'll be able to make up the speed.
     
  7. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
  8. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    The asus version is:

    ASUS A8V DELUXE MOTHERBOARD ATHLON64 S939 K8T800PRO DUAL DDR AGP 5PCI SATA 1394 SOUND 1000LAN

    Basically the exact same board. Same chipset and everything, the only variable is brand.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/motherboard/20050103/index.html

    Abit outscored the asus, plus it has goodies.
     
  9. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Picking up my new stuff later tonight.
     
  10. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Pulled the motherboard and cpu out of my old system and dumped it into a new case/psu I bought. Used one of my three optical drives and one of the three hard drives along with my old ti 4400. Now it's my back up computer.

    New computer is now an athlon 3000+. Very purdy.
     
  11. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Always say Athlon 64! Otherwise people might assume you have an Athlon XP and then you'd be so not l33t.
     
  12. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    I didn't install windows 64.
     
  13. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    I know, no one has yet. It's just that the architecture is so different that the Athlon 64 even in 32-bit mode is a very fast processor. That's why it's better than the P4, and yet the Athlon XP lags so far behind.
     
  14. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    No one cares but full stats anyways for e-penis reasons.

    New:
    AMD Athlon 3000+
    Abit AV8
    1gb pc3200 in dual channel configuration
    MSI geforce 6800

    Old:
    Intel P4 1.6a @ 2.14ghz
    Abit IT7
    768mb pc2700 @ ddr 178
    Abit siluro geforce 4 ti4400

    Getting the IT7 into the new mid tower case I bought cheap was fun, it had like a millimetre of clearance on two of the sides. The video card barely fit as well.

    I can run WoW nicely at 1600x1200 now yay.

    I'm going to run the new cpu for a week or two stock to make sure it's stable and then start with the clock manipulations.
     
  15. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    I could run WoW at 1600x1200, but my monitor only supports 60 Hz at that resolution. I think a new monitor will be my next upgrade, and I'm thinking about an Apple Cinema Display... It would match my Lian-Li case too.
     
  16. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hot stuff, get one of those Dell 2005fpw widescreen lcds. You can get them for around $450 - $500 now with coupons.

    Which case do you have? I have the pc65 i think. I love removable motherboard trays soooooo much.
     
  17. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    I have the PC-V1000 case.

    Hmmm, interesting. I like the ergonomics of the 20" Cinema better, and it's $699 with the education discount. Heck my CRT is perfectly good and has no latency issues, so I may just wait. There are better things to save that kind of money for. Still, if I got a really nice display like that then I wouldn't need a TV - I could set it all up to go into my monitor.
     
  18. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    i have the 20" - $699 is a bargain, go for it.
     
  19. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    I would get an Apple display if they didn't use funky native resolutions.
     

Hitometer: 53,813,131 since 1995