Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Throughput test all your machines to make me feel bad and buy a new computer

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by cowofwar, Jul 25, 2001.

  1. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'd say that'll get him to buy :D.

    --Haite
     
  2. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    If I didn't have $6K in taxes, maybe. Otherwise it's another year with old lizzie here.
     
  3. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    good old 533/MP radeon setup, nice bus throughput. good machine. :D
     
  4. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hey auto, what's with the super high copybits? It's higher than both the new 733, old 733 and new 867. Is it because of the extra processor?
     
  5. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    thats a good possibility, or it could be the Radeon's 2D ownage
     
  6. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    wow, your text scrolling must be insane! :rolleyes:
     
  7. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'll do my machine tomorrow. I'm on my PB now.

    But look at the old 733 compared to the new 867. The new, faster machine is worse in everything but Copybits, and even there it's only .6 MB/sec faster.
     
  8. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    hehe, the MHz myth working against Apple. ;)
     
  9. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hehe. There are only 2 people who broke 200 MB/sec. Auto only in CopyBits, and i did it in every category.

    Auto's CPU is pretty sad. I got one 733mhz, and he has dual 533mhz (me think), and yet my throughput is 4x better?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    That's a 9.1 app, it's not fully dual-processor optimized. You could try it in Classic under OS X.

    --Haite
     
  11. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    ran another test with this shiny 867Mhz G4 w/ my radeon
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Eupfhoria

    Eupfhoria Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    not as bad as i expected...I guess there is an advantage to having a vid card soldered to the motherboard...(goes and commits suicide)
    </sarcasm>
    imac 333 BTW
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 29, 2001
  13. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    i ran one with a GeForce2MX on the 867, it was about 10MB/sec faster than gekko in all the categories.. i thought you had a GeForce3?
     
  14. BaleFire

    BaleFire MSC Footman

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Market Rating:
    0
    Opera won't let me upload anything and I'm to lazy to change browsers so I'll just write out what I got.

    CPU 32 Bit Stream 47.9 MB/sec.
    FPU 64 Bit Stream 79.3 MB/sec.
    AltiVec Bit Stream 119.4 MB/sec
    CopyBits Bit Stream 171.7 MB/sec.

    I'm on a 400 mhz g4
     

Hitometer: 53,837,112 since 1995