Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

ThinkGeek update

Discussion in 'Mac' started by SpocKirk, Jul 19, 2002.

  1. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    http://www.thinkgeek.com/stuff/computing/5ad1.shtml
    4 port switch on a card. only problem is the computer has to be on. not a problem for me, comp's on 24/7



    also, they have a new cool shirt. It says "There are only 10 kinds of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those that don't." I already ordered one
     
  2. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Neat. :nod:
     
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    worky on mac?
     
  4. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Doubt it.
     
  5. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    heh, what do you care? you don't have a PCI mac anyway :p
     
  6. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'd like to know if it works on mac too!
     
  7. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i'm sure the switch would work fine on mac. but i doubt the NIC would work.
     
  8. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    yeah, probably. The switch would only need to draw power from the PCI slot, but the interface for the NIC is PC only. no real problem, macs all come with built-in ethernet anyway, just get a 3' and loop it around. only problem would be it would take up one of the 4 spots.
     

Hitometer: 53,550,098 since 1995