Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

RAVE or OpenGL?

Discussion in 'MSC Clan' started by Keeksy, Jul 27, 2000.

  1. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I've been wondering, which runs better in Diablo 2, RAVE or OpenGl? The statup box recommends the use RAVE or OpenGL, but isn't OpenGL more stable? Also, if I have 256MB of physical RAM do I really need 512MB of virtual memory as Blizzard suggests? Please help? [​IMG]

    ------------------
    Heh! Necro my ego!

    [This message has been edited by Keeksy (edited 07-27-2000).]
     
  2. Dark_Warrior

    Dark_Warrior Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    i'm personally using Glide. i'd recommend it to anyone, it's running really well, and i'm not having a lot of the framerate problems a lot of peopel seem to be suffering

    ------------------
    guiness beer sucks
     
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    They both run the same from what I can tell.
     
  4. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Glide? Can you run Diablo 2 under Glide?

    ------------------
    Heh! Necro my ego!
     
  5. Dark_Warrior

    Dark_Warrior Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    ya, i have a voodoo 3 an glide was one of my options.

    ------------------
    guiness beer sucks
     
  6. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I was thinking about buying a Voodoo5, but it think now I'll wait to buy a Rampage or Radeon card. I'll probably go with 3dfx over ATI because I'll get Glide. Rampage will also have T&L so it will preform much better than the Voodoo5. I just hope 3dfx will make it for the Mac. If not I guess I'll by a Radeon if it's ever released.

    ------------------
    Heh! Necro my ego!
     

Hitometer: 53,854,810 since 1995