Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Q3A 1.3 released

Discussion in 'Mac' started by gekko, Oct 2, 2001.

  1. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
  2. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Now if only UT X didn't suck
     
  3. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    What sucks about UT X (I've never even run it)?
     
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    the current build is very incomplete. it's missing many key game features and has the typical stability issues you would expect from an early build like this. (so i hear)

    //edit: btw, UT for OS X is openGL rendering only. Glide and Rave will not be supported. i heard that software mode will be supported but it sucks.
     
  5. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok, well, I already play UT in OpenGL. The GL renderer is pretty good, especially considering that there's not too many fast Glide cards floating around nowadays.

    I don't know how much of a loss Rave is, all I have to go on is what it was like on your Radeon that one time. :)
     
  6. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i was playing Q3 1.30 on my G4 400 running OS X v10.1 tonight. i couldn't really guage performance since q3 was only running in 640 res. when i switched to 800 or 1024 (the max my 15'' monitor will handle) it was pushing refresh rates that my monitor couldn't handle. i set the refresh for each res in my system prefs but it wouldn't carry over to quake.

    btw, weird thing, the q3config.cfg file in OS X Quake 3 is under hard drive -> users -> jakeman (or whatever user) -> library -> app support -> quake3. it's completely independant of the q3 directory. though, i guess that's better to have a central location for all app prefs.
     
  7. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    The Linux port also keeps the q3config.cfg file separate from the game.

    This is better for multiuser systems, because you can have different configs for different people on the same computer, and not have them step on each other.

    I guess Mr. Devine decided to be cool and do it for OSX.
     
  8. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Quake 1 cocoa port was released.
     

Hitometer: 53,855,306 since 1995