Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

PowerMac 5500

Discussion in 'Mac' started by powerhouse, Sep 20, 2001.

  1. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I have a PowerMac 5500. Its got a 225 MHz 603ev, so do you guys think it can run photoshop and do basic image editing, like levels and such?

    I'm the Tech Editor for my school newspaper, and we received some discards which I get to set up. It looks like this is our best machine now, next to our G3 server. (No more Mac Classics and LCs!) We cant use the G3 for photoshop, because if network activity is high, it has a tendency to crash.

    BTW, check out www.apple-history.com. Cool web site with the history of apple and an index of all past and present models.
     
  2. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    It should be okay, comparable to about a 300 MHz P2. It'd also run some older games quite adequately, starcraft and warcraft 2 come to mind.

    --Haite
     
  3. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yip, starcraft would work. I'm sure photshop and other graphic programs would run acceptably too.

    www.everymac.com
     
  4. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    You might not want to run Photoshop 6.0. I haven't used it personally, but it might be too much for the processor. You might want to run 4.5 or 5.0 instead
     
  5. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    :stupid:
     
  6. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'm not stupid, I am smat.
     
  7. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    :stupid:

    (i can do this all day :D )
     
  8. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    hahaha!!!!!! the day is almost over, you only have 45 minutes left!!

    loooooooooser
     
  9. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok I have two new options to choose from.

    1. PowerMac 8500/180
    Its got a 604e and 64MB of RAM.

    2. PowerMac 9500/132
    Its also got a 604 and 96MB of RAM I think.

    and

    3. PowerMac 5500/225
    Its got a 603ev and 32MB RAM.

    What's the best photoshop machine of the three? I was thinking of taking the RAM out of machine #2 and putting it in #1, since it uses the same kind. So I guess its really between #1 with extra RAM, and #3. So whatcha think?
     
  10. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    There wasn't that much difference between the 603e and 604, so if the first one is 180 MHz and the second is 225, go with the second. It's not nearly as large a difference as between a P1 and P2, or an 80286 and an 80486.

    --Haite
     
  11. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    BIGGER IS BETTER
     
  12. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I thought the 604e was a better/faster chip?
     
  13. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    It is, but not so much so that it could make up the difference between 180 and 225 MHz. It's like saying, "What's faster, a 300 MHz G4 or a 450 MHz G3?".

    --Haite
     
  14. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    604 series was a beefy chip during its time.
     
  15. Grizzly

    Grizzly Peasant

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2001
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    ROOFL!

    You get the discards from Yearbook.

    Today, we cleared out a bunch of our old computers because we bought a bunch of iMacs and G4s, about $6000 worth. We have about 3 old 5500s we're probably going to "donate" to less unfortunate departments in our high school :)
     
  16. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Like newspaper... :nod:
     
  17. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Isnt the 9500 more upgradable?
     
  18. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    I dunno about the 9500, but the 9600 was probably the most upgradeable Mac ever, it had 6 PCI slots, room for plenty of RAM (for it's time), and I'm pretty sure the CPU was replaceable (ZIF card or something).

    --Haite
     
  19. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    It actually had 12 RAM sockets... crazy...
     

Hitometer: 53,581,524 since 1995