Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

PowerMac 5200

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Vokbain, Sep 18, 2001.

  1. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    What can this machine do? Whats the highest version of the Mac OS it can run? Can it run linux? How well would it run a hotline server? How about Starcraft and Marathon?
     
  2. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    That's my old computer. It's sitting upstairs collecting dust.
     
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i used to have a 5215CD (yes, a CD drive!). IIRC that has a PPC 603e chip... 100MHz? it's not gonna be able to do much. i only played two games on my 5215: Diablo 1 and Power Pete (wOOt!).

    //edit: oh, and Command and Conquer too.
     
  4. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    It can run SC well, and Marathon very well. It needs OS 8.1 for SC, though. HL is no problem (you might not have much space, 1.2GB or something). I have no idea about Linux
     
  5. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    i have the 5200cd. 75mhz. You can run mklinux on it since it doesn't have pci cards.
     
  6. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Power Pete owned! Hell ya, beat that game, amazing :D! It was my first real game I played on a computer... Then Pangaea went and created that Dinosaur game that shipped with the original iMacs :wtf:.

    --Haite
     
  7. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yellow dog runs on any PPC chip I think...
     
  8. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Alright, assuming it only has a 500MB harddrive (I havent been able to check yet, but 500 is the smallest available on the 5200), would I be able to install Linux on it? If so what version, and where can I get it? Ive never used or installed Linux before, so I need yall to guide me through this.
     
  9. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    You'd have to be selective with what you installed, but you could do it.
     
  10. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well, my plan as of now is to put system 8.1 on it (assuming I can find my 8.1 disk), and run Tenon's Apache webserver, thought the name of it has slipped my mind.
     

Hitometer: 53,590,344 since 1995