Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

OSX on 400Mhz G4

Discussion in 'Mac' started by kraahl, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    My parent may be able to get an old G4 rather cheap, the question is, will it run OSX well enough?
    It´s a, as stated, 400Mhz G4 with 768MB RAM, does that run OSX ok?
     
  2. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    It will load, but OS X is kind of graphic intensive - it likes the neweest hardware. It will just feel a bit slow.
     
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    OS X performance and Mac hardware have both gotten faster over time. The early builds of OS X were slooowwwww. Apple has gradually improved performance of the OS. And of course stuff runs faster on faster hardware too.

    Does that system support OS X's accelerated GUI? If not, eww.
     
  4. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hmm, ok... We´ll see what they do :D
     
  5. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    that's what I use, with OS 10.2.8. it has 832MB RAM and a Radeon 32 or something in it.

    no problems.

    I even use OS 10.2.8 on my 333MHz iMac (G3). it's not too slow.
     
  6. Delphiki

    Delphiki MSC Friend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    Get Mac OS for i386, it will run great on your Intel based hardware. I have coworker who runs it on his AMD system
     
  7. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hey Delphiki!

    Unfortunately the main draw to the Mac is the interface, which is Apple-proprietary. The free version of Darwin is a nice build of BSD, but it comes without all the things that make a Mac a Mac.

    I've actually considered using Darwin for a media center computer I plan to build. Right now it's kind of a toss up, but I'll probably end up going with Linux for the maturity and greater developer-base if and when I do put that system together.
     
  8. Delphiki

    Delphiki MSC Friend

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    I am still learning Macs and Linux,

    trying to get aboard one of these training sessions!!


    Or you know another option is Virtual PC for your Mac and run Win inside of it...takes a lot of RAM and HD space to do though..lol
     
  9. angus_prune

    angus_prune Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    It sounds like the same system I have, so I suppose it depends on the version you want to run.
     
  10. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    update: I run X.4.9 on mine now, and I haven't experienced any problems
     

Hitometer: 53,595,617 since 1995