Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Old Style iMac (running classic) Problems

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by Draco_Auric, Dec 12, 2002.

  1. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok, Here is the deal:

    My mom was using our iMac and some how unplugged the power cord from the back of the computer. After plugging the computer back in and turning it on I got an extension conflict error message, after restarting with extensions off I get another error message(invalid address, or address error I don’t remember what it said) and it tells us to restart with extensions off again, trying that I get the same error message and restarting with extensions on I get the original error message again.


    The computer is a 400Mhz iMac running 9.1, and it is no longer under warranty. Any suggestions on what to do would be much appreciated.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Maybe try resetting the PRAM?
     
  3. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    if that doesn't work, use the startup CD
     
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,759
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    sounds like you have bad RAM. if you have more than one RAM chip in your iMac, try removing one, then the other. i bet the extension conflict / invalid address error will go away when you remove the bad stick.
     
  5. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok, thanks. I'll try those when I get home.
     
  6. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I forgot to post this before:stupid2: but before I could try any of the things you guys suggested my step dad left the computer unplugged for the night and now it works fine.
     
  7. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    you shouldn't really unplug it. could be why.
     
  8. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yeah, you surged the powersupply. They have a memory for a few hours and then reset. I've heard about many people fixing it by just leaving it off overnight.
     

Hitometer: 53,935,791 since 1995