Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

oh eeeeelbereth...

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Jakeman, Jun 7, 2002.

  1. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    me got iBook! bow!

    700
    12.1
    combo

    :hump:
     
  2. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    ONLY 12.1? ;)

    Nice top Jake.
     
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    12.1 is better, crisper.
     
  4. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Out of curiousity, what sort of FPS do you get in say... Quake 3?

    How does X run on it? Does the lack of Altivec seem to make much difference at all?

    Mmmm.. 16MB card. If I didn't know better, I'd say that was good enough for WC3. :banana:
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2002
  5. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i haven't installed Q3 yet. OS X performance is totally decent. it's only running 128MB RAM right now so it can only get better with more RAM and jaguar. yeah, this thing meets the W3 system reqs.
     
  6. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Die

    Give now
     
  7. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    Nice.

    12.1 is definitely better.

    Gimme your video card!!!
    :D
     
  8. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    isn't there a thing where you are supposed to remove the battery while you are running it on AC and the battery is fully charged? can i remove it while it's on and plugged into AC?
     
  9. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    No, that was on older batteries... they have smarter batteries now that don't get that memory effect that easily
     
  10. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    Like he said.
     
  11. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    just got 256MB upgrade (384 total), and a case. i got a bunch of porn for my opengl fading screen saver too. 1337!
     
  12. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    the front left part of the palm rest area (left of trackpad) gets fairly warm during use. does yours do that elb? there is a cooling vent on the left side near the warm area... i wonder what is under there? hard drive?
     
  13. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    :nod:

    Yup, gets pretty warm too. I've got 384 Mb too, and haven't had any issues with it not being enough.

    Now go get an Airport basestation. Not much beats sitting outside surfing/playing D2. :D
     
  14. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    ima wait for the next gen airport that is supposedly coming out soon.
     
  15. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    my sister's gets warm, too. pull the keyboard and see what's there. I'll check mine when I get home. maybe it's the CPU :eek:
     
  16. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    That's what sucks about my mom's laptop. It's been running on AC power with the battery in so long that it only lasts until halfway through startup if it's not plugged in. Is there a way to drain it so it will work again?
     
  17. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    nope, when a battery gets like that you just gotta throw it away and buy a new one... they usually cost $100 or more. :(
     
  18. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    haha! it's a school comp. oh well, if they want to replace the battery, they can. They never told my mom to do the battery removal, so they can pay for it
     

Hitometer: 53,550,351 since 1995