Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Networking.

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by kraahl, Jun 29, 2003.

  1. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok, I know nothing about networking. Ok, I know a little but not much.

    Scenario:
    1 PC
    1 iMac/350
    1 Printer (Epson Stylus Color 740, USB)
    1 ADSL modem
    1 Router

    Ok, So I want to share the internet connection, network the computers (to share files and play Starcraft) and share the printer.
    So I go out and buy I cheap router (not done yet), I don´t need anything fancy just something that works with both mac and pc and gets the job done.

    I´m a bit confused by networking cables. I understand there are two types, twisted pair and soem other sort. I think that you can connect two computers with a twisted pair cable without using a router or hub. Is that correct?

    I tried connecting the pc and the mac with the cable that goes between the modem and the network card but that didn´t work. I suppose it´s not twisted.

    So If I have a router can the cables going between the router and the comps be of any kind? Twisted or otherwise.

    How do I share the printer?
     
  2. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
  3. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    There are two types of ethernet cables, crossover and patch. Crossover is used when you are going directly between two computers. Patch is used when there are hubs or switches in your setup because they do the "crossing over" for you. You need patch cable because you are using a router.

    To share that printer you will need to install a USB print sharing service on one of the computer. One computer will have the printer hooked up to it, the other will access it over the network through the other computer. Windows has USB print sharing I think.
     
  4. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Get an Asante FriendlyNet router.
     
  5. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Mac OS X has USB Print Sharing too.
     
  6. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    The iMac has Mac OS 9 installed.

    Can I use a crossover instead of a patch when going from router to comp or is it only patch that works? I friend had a spare crossover cable, can that one be used?

    The less I have to buy the more coke I can drink.
     
  7. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    Main question: Is it cheap?
     
  8. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    No.
     
  9. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    I read a bit. That should not work. Patch only.
     
  10. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Mac OS 9 can do it too.

    Yes, Asante FriendlyNet routers are pretty cheap.
     
  11. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok, so I found a router that´s very cheap. About $40.

    http://www.alliedtelesyn.com/product/AR220E

    I don´t see anything about mac compability. It´s supposed to have a "web-based" interface or something like that. That should work on the mac as well.

    Any idea?
     
  12. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Yes that will work. All routers have a control panel that you can access through your web browser.
     
  13. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    linksys linksys linksys
     
  14. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
  15. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    ok, so I ended up with a Netgear RP614v2 which was kinda cheap.
    I´m having trouble setting it up, but I´m a bit tired right now so I`ll try to look into that tomorrow.
    The problem is as follows,
    I followed the instructions for setting the thing up with one computer, getting internet access through the router. There this "wizard" that´s supposed to do that for you, but it doesn´t seem to get it right so it looks lite i´m going to have to do it the hard way.
    My ISP write on thier site that they don´t give support for that kind of things so I´ll guess I have to cheack out Netgears site.

    I´ll probably try to get internet access through the iMac tomorrow if I don´t get it to work right away, if it don´t work on the peecee I don´t think it will work on the mac but who knows...

    Additionally, if we forget about sharing the connection right now and concentrate on connection the iMac to the peecee. Can someone guide me through doing that?
    I really know nothing about networking.
     
  16. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    If the iMac is running OS X, just go to the Go menu -> Connect to server. Your PC share should show up there. Login with the same username and password you use on your PC.
     
  17. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    I think he wants a direct connection.

    In that case set both computers' networking to manual mode. Give each a valid IP and subnet, then connect them with a crossover cable.
     
  18. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    The iMac is OS9, the pc has WinXP. I don´t own a crossover cable right now. But I´ve got the router and two patch cables.
     
  19. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    I have never tried getting network browsing to work between OS 9 and Windows. OS 9 can't see Windows shares... isn't there that program called Dave that does this?

    Anyways, what I would do is:

    1) Set both computers to use DHCP. All routers have a DHCP option that is usually enabled by default. This will make it so your computers automatically get their TCP/IP configs from the router.

    At this point the two computers are networked because they both have IP addresses. You can now play network games between your Mac and PC through TCP/IP. Now you need file sharing services so you can transfer files.

    2) Get a program like Dave so the Mac can see your PC's shares.

    Done.

    You could go about this the hard way and setup static IPs on both computers, then setup a FTP service on one and connect via IP, but this requires more configuration.
     
  20. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    I managed to play some WC2 with my sister, not very fun, but at least I´ve managed to get it working.

    Thanks for the help.
     

Hitometer: 53,597,033 since 1995