Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Modem ?

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Kaeric, Mar 8, 2002.

  1. Kaeric

    Kaeric Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    4
    Market Rating:
    0
    OK, My dad just got himself a new fancy dan new comp (yes its a mac) and IM grabbing his old G3. Now this was just a business comp so it doesnt have a modem. Thus, i will not be able to hook up to the net to play SB when it comes out (or D2 for that matter). Now I plan on picking up a cable modem/DSL (which ever i can afford) and i want to know if i will still be able to hook it up to my G3...or if i still need to stick in a modem (or whatever, im not a techy, i know nothing) to be able to hook up the cable modem. Thanx
     
  2. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Most cable and DSL modems use the ethernet (network) card that comes with just about every Mac in the last few years. (Including the B&W G3s). It's the thing that looks like an oversized phone jack. Some ISPs also have USB modems but I keep hearing bad things about them, like less/fluctuating speed and so on... Get an ethernet one and you should be off and running in no time.
     
  3. Kaeric

    Kaeric Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    4
    Market Rating:
    0
    oh...good to hear. I know i have ethernet. Thanx Tenric
     
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    make sure they don't give you a USB DSL modem!!!
     
  5. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    OMG! Kill it!

    DIE DIE DIE DIE DIE
     
  6. Kaeric

    Kaeric Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    4
    Market Rating:
    0
    can i ask why? (again, i no very little bout hardware)
     
  7. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Because USB is ass slow. You're effectively limiting your DSL connection speed to that of USB's, even if your modem can go faster it can't transfer the data fast enough to your computer.

    So if your max is 300kbps, USB would limit you to something like 20kbps.
     
  8. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    USB is 12Mbps. it won't limit your dsl speed, but it makes it so you can't route the connection (get multiple computers on it simultaneously).
     
  9. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yeah, 1.5MBps. So it wont limit your connection.

    But it still sucks ass.
     
  10. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    that should be Mbps, not B. :noid: :D

    and yes, USB modems just plain suck regardless. they are not 1337
     
  11. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    Also, 12 Mbps is the theoretical max for everything connected to that bus - it is shared, and you never actually get that good a speed from it. I still think it has enough room to not be the limiter by itself. I do agree though, USB modems suck. :p
     
  12. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    yeah, you want a Gigabit Ethernet Connection from your DSL :)
     
  13. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yeah, if only Firewire was the common one while USB was licking its boots. Perhaps people could use something like that for a net connection if that was the case.

    :run:
     
  14. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    actually, linksys has a router that accepts usb

    but i still like ethernet better.
     
  15. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    usb and ethernet together? that's gonna be one messed up kid. ;)
     
  16. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    yeah, it's freakishly weird.
     
  17. Kaeric

    Kaeric Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    4
    Market Rating:
    0
    OK...so I do NOT want to get a USB DSL modem, but i want what.....? the Gigabit Ethernet Connection. Alright...I'll make a note of that/
     

Hitometer: 53,554,141 since 1995