Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Mac War3 Security Loophole

Discussion in 'Warcraft 3' started by Slayer4967, Aug 31, 2002.

  1. Slayer4967

    Slayer4967 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    What does it all mean man?
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    it means exactly what it says... a hacker can execute any code they want on a mac through warcraft3. they can do anything.
     
  3. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    It depends what account ran Warcraft 3, but didn't someone say they needed to be logged on as the superuser to run it? I wouldn't worry about it though.
     
  4. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well, they could **** up your current account... so if you were logged in as say Admin... well **** yourself up the arse
     
  5. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    They could if they really wanted, but I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  6. MisterHalleck

    MisterHalleck Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    15
    Market Rating:
    0
    Not enough people use macs for anyone to want to make a virus for them. the last one I heard of was the AutoStart worm that used Quicktime 3.0 for some evil deeds- it's in MacWorld Mac Secrets 5.0
     

Hitometer: 53,811,975 since 1995