Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Just tossing this out there...

Discussion in 'Help Forum' started by 0111000001100100, Oct 7, 2003.

  1. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    My set up at school includes me on a mac, and my 2 roomates have pc's. I supplied a linksys router to hook all of us up to the shit ass cable modem here. Now to the problem, my one roomate is a jackass. he leaves his beloved kazza on all the time and sucks up the shitty amout of BW our room has to begin with. Is there any way to shape the BW so he gets less and me and the good roomie get better speeds without doing the obvious of unhooking him all the time.
     
  2. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yeah, make him use kazaalite or k++ which has the ability to set your max upload/download rates.
     
  3. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Stab him.
     
  4. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    i like that idea
     
  5. Arisu

    Arisu Peasant

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    On the linksys router, i forget what setting you have to use... but you can limit the BW the line gets. You can check what IP hes using too, then just limit the BW. Ill look around and see... Ive done this to my sister before. :D


    EDIT - Apparently this feature was only available on my old router... :( I did find this article while searching though...


    Ill keep looking.

    EDIT2 - For the new linksys routers (not sure where this is for old ones) The thing for MTU enabling is in System, not filters.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2003
  6. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    im looking for something that he wont notice so he thinks he's still cool
     
  7. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    i figured it out, port filtering :D

    edit it seems to be downloading now but it crapped out for a few mins :/

    edot he can download but no more uploading. thats good enough for me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2003
  8. Arisu

    Arisu Peasant

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
  9. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    well it dont work heh, i blocked all the ports kazaa goes and swiches it self to automatically, then it goes and swiches it elf to port 80. Fsck you kazza and my jack ass roomate. i tink i will jsut stab him.
     
  10. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    How about telling him to shut it off? Tried that one?
     
  11. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    yup. thats why its his beloved kazaa. and i think i stoped him hehe i shut every port from 1000-6000 and changed the http from 80 to some obscuer number. there aolIM stuff kepps getting kicked off line, but i don't really care at least our BW isn't being hogged.
     
  12. Arisu

    Arisu Peasant

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    AIM uses port 5599 if im not mistaken.
     
  13. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    correction, 5190. i changed ther im setings too another obscure number above 6k, but me thinks aol uses more than just 1 port for some reason.
     
  14. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    You could sell him out to the RIAA :evil:
     
  15. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Go go IPNetrouter =) (by Sustainable, check versiontracker).
     

Hitometer: 53,586,005 since 1995