Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Jaguar and game performance

Discussion in 'MSC Clan' started by Wran, Aug 26, 2002.

  1. Wran

    Wran Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    How's game performance with Jaguar? I think someone said that D2 was worse.

    I still have to boot into OS9 to play D2. I only have a G4/400 AGP and it's too slow to even play in software mode (with 10.1.5).

    I don't have Jaguar yet, but am thinking about it...

    Wran
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
  3. Baseera

    Baseera MSC Footman

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Runs fine for me...
     
  4. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    Crappy for me on my G4 400. I haven't tried on my iBook yet, but I doubt it will be good.

    :(
     
  5. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Jaguar?! :confused:
     
  6. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    os x 10.2 codename jaguar
     
  7. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Right...why? Any special reason, and on the topic, can I call Windows 98SE "Beached Whale"?
     
  8. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    No, but you can call Windows .NET Server "Whistler". Ask Bill why.
     
  9. harleyb

    harleyb Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    9
    Market Rating:
    0
    performance is much improved on my G3 iBook (500MHz, 192MB RAM, 8 meg ATI Mobility), and Quartz Extreme makes a decent amount of stuff on my G4 faster. i'd upgrade again if only to have the ability to have fish behind my windows.
     
  10. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    By the way, Wran, are you gonna post regularly again? Welcome back.
     
  11. Wran

    Wran Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hey Haite,

    I'll try to be back more often! Thanks for the welcome. You ever play D2 anymore?

    Later,
    Wran
     
  12. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i still have my 40 softcore west SOJs, another mule full of uber items (softcore), and my beefed level 88 mf / dueler barbie (also softcore). i keep my hardcore account active too, but i traded most all my good hc items for sc sojs.
     
  13. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Nope, I think someone stole my accounts because I can't log in to any of them but they're still there. Either that or Blizzard took them (though I only used maphack, which, at the time, was not being sought after for account closures).
     
  14. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    bliz banned accounts and keys of several map hackers a while ago.

    map hack = cheating

    or wait, i thought when they did map hackers they just flagged the accounts so hackers could only play with other hackers.
     
  15. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    They did ban map hackers but they didn't start until way after my accounts fudged up. I know it was cheating, it added life to the game.
     
  16. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'm sur it does add life, but most times I find the honest way to be more fun. Towards the ending days of my friend and I's starcraft career, we did use a maphack! Losses=0. Oh, and a name spoof too :D. :yeah:
     
  17. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    diablo 2 is the only game so far that doesnt work right, the WC3 map editor seems to not like 10.2 very much.. but the game itself is fine. overall i havent noticed a huge game difference on my system.
     
  18. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    The warcraft 3 editor requires massive system resources.
     
  19. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    i have massive system resources.
     
  20. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    are you gonna upgrade to a 1.25 dualie now? :yeah:
     

Hitometer: 53,564,608 since 1995