Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

I'M BACK WITH LINUX!

Discussion in 'Mac' started by powerhouse, Oct 16, 2001.

  1. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well, I finally got Linux running on my second computer. It certainly is nice. I have a couple goals for it.

    1. Get a web-server up
    2. Get a full-time UT Server up

    So, that should keep me busy for awhile. And the best part, is that it has fortune!
     
  2. zxcvbnm

    zxcvbnm Peasant

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Thats pretty cool. Have you tried browsing the forums with lynx yet? Interesting experience, but it wouldn't let me post for some reason.
     
  3. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
  4. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I tried mozilla and konqueror, but the pages looked kinda ****ed up in mozilla. But now, for some odd reason, I cant get to the net. I can ping the router and other comps on my network, but nothing else. dammit.
     
  5. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    The forums look fine to me in Mozilla.

    If you like Lynx, you should try out Links. Much better browser.
     
  6. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hey red, how do you configure network settings on your linux machine?

    I'm running Red Hat 7.1, and tried configuring my network settings with Linuxconf, and /usr/bin/control-panel. I'm out of ideas, and just wondering how other people do it.
     
  7. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    man ifconfig

    thats the uber-manly way, of course.

    I've done it with no problems via Linuxconf in the past.
     
  8. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ok red, I'm thoroughly confused.

    Here's my setup. I have two computers connected to a linksys router, with a cable modem. I have dhcp disabled, so I have assigned all my computers ip addresses manually.

    I can't access the net from my linux machine, but I can ping other computers and the router on my network. I also have apache running, and get this... I can get to it from other computers using the external ip address. (I have DMZ set to my linux machine).

    Now it would seem to me that if I couldn't get out from my linux box, other people shouldn't be able to get into it. I dunno, something is jacked up.
     
  9. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    My comp just fixed itself... I'm now even more confused... disregard my last post...
     

Hitometer: 53,586,121 since 1995