Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

How to build an Intel Mac

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Calendryll, Nov 15, 2005.

  1. Calendryll

    Calendryll MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,336
    Likes Received:
    52
    Market Rating:
    0
  2. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
  3. MisterHalleck

    MisterHalleck Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    15
    Market Rating:
    0
    whoa... cool...

    Wonder how Apple plans to support backwards compatibility? Or is it going to ditch Carbon altogether in the new release?
     
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Another layer of emulation.
     
  5. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Who actually still uses carbon? Why would you use a program that's like four years old?
     
  6. Lurk

    Lurk Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    47
    Market Rating:
    0
    I don't even have an OS 9 system folder anymore.
     
  7. Gilgamesh

    Gilgamesh MSC Footman

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    9
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well, in the freelance Graphic Design market, you stiil need it for all those, umm... idiots, people who still use Quark 4.X.

    If you aren't tied to a certain application, then you should be able to get rid of OS9 completely.
     
  8. MisterHalleck

    MisterHalleck Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    15
    Market Rating:
    0
    I kinda like the ability to play Red Alert original on my PC. The same level of backwards compatibility will not/does not exist on the mac. /cry
     
  9. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    Same, but for the original Command & Conquer.

    It works great on my WinXP PC. I won't run in OS X or OS 9. I have to install OS 8 and then manually drop in a drawsprocket from system 7 I think.
     
  10. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    or you could just keep a computer around that won't run anything more than System 7. that's what I do
     
  11. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    I am trying to be difficult.
     
  12. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    I have a spare I can give you. now you can't complain. I am teh difficultest!!1! hahahahahahahahahahaha
     

Hitometer: 53,859,674 since 1995