Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

How much RAM do you have?

Discussion in 'Polls' started by Jakeman, Nov 10, 2002.

?

How much RAM do you have?

  1. 64MB

    1 vote(s)
    2.6%
  2. 128MB

    2 vote(s)
    5.3%
  3. 256MB

    9 vote(s)
    23.7%
  4. 512MB

    16 vote(s)
    42.1%
  5. 1024MB

    2 vote(s)
    5.3%
  6. more than 1024MB :eek:

    8 vote(s)
    21.1%
  1. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    How much RAM do you have? (i stole this poll idea from ars :o )
     
  2. harleyb

    harleyb Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    9
    Market Rating:
    0
    woot for massive amounts of RAM!
     
  3. fugu

    fugu Peasant

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    1.5gb of pc133 ecc, i know it sucks :(

    also got 128 in my new ibook, gotta pick up a stick for it, didnt want to pay apples outrageous price, anyone suggest a place to get a stick from?
     
  4. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    I second the wootage. Memory ownage! If only I didn't spend $50 on yet another effects pedal I'd buy another 256 megs for my computer. It's definitely either my next upgrade, or one of my top priorities if I end up skipping to building a new box.
     
  5. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Not really, considering how much is stored in your RAM and not being read from your hard drive. For data throughput over a period of time your system probably pwns mine, which is a DDR266 bus and 256 megs of PC2100; mine would only win out in short contests where small packets of data are processed.
     
  6. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    I actually have 384, so I chose 256 as the closest
     
  7. fugu

    fugu Peasant

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    you should have just felt left out and not choose one
     
  8. Disco Cat

    Disco Cat Peasant

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I only have 128 DDR at 333mhz. I'm planing on buying another 512, but I need the money first.
     
  9. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    640 here.
     
  10. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    192MB So I´m not voting.
     
  11. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    if your RAM isn't an integer power of 2 then you aren't leet. ;)
     
  12. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Note Sig.
     
  13. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    :rofl:

    I've got 384 MB in my iBook too.

    512 in my G4 tower though.
     
  14. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    256 in iBook, 512 in desktop.
     
  15. kraahl

    kraahl Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    damn
     
  16. mud

    mud Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    384 In my G4 Mac, 32 in my Power Mac 8500, 48 in my Quadra 6500, 512 in my 1.6 P4 and 256 in my P3 550.

    Which is more than a gig so thats how I voted.
     
  17. SuperStar

    SuperStar Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Oh gosh in that case i got....


    2 gigs.

    512=3 iMacs
    512-PC
     
  18. filburt1

    filburt1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Does virtual memory/swap file count? I've got several GB too, then...
     
  19. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i was talking about in your main computer, not the sum of all your computers. :rolleyes:
     
  20. harleyb

    harleyb Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    9
    Market Rating:
    0
    all our computers?
    1.5 in DP800 tower, 160 in iBook, 340 in G3, 32 in Performa, 10 in LC.
     

Hitometer: 53,595,368 since 1995