Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Help with Old Mac

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Beeble, Jul 28, 2002.

  1. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    hey, I have an old starmax 4000, same as a powermac 4400, that does nothing when I turn it on... i have no idea what the problem is, so what could it be?
     
  2. 0111000001100100

    0111000001100100 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2001
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    what's your definition of nothing...does it boing, can you hear the hd spinning up?
     
  3. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    If there's no fan sound it could be the power supply (thing w/ fan) which in most computers is easily replacable. More details?
     
  4. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    Nothing. no lights. No response whatsoever.
     
  5. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    make sure it's plugged in, replace the power cord, make sure the power socket on the wall / surge strip is working. make sure all internal connections are seated properly, etc.

    most mac clones use bastardized AT power supplies. they have like 4 AT power connectors instead of the standard 2. it's not exactly a standard part you can buy from any computer store. i have no idea where you can get those power supplies (if that's the kind it uses).
     
  6. Beeble

    Beeble Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,699
    Likes Received:
    2
    Market Rating:
    0
    It has power at the wall outlet. Get no fan, no lights, that kind of nothing. Can it be anything else besides the power supply?
     
  7. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    could be the power switch. you can try hot-wiring it... i'm not sure how to hot-wire a mac though, never tried it.
     
  8. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Maybe you shorted the power button. Try clipping the wires and shorting it on.
     

Hitometer: 53,595,136 since 1995