Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Gonna build a PC

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Vokbain, Oct 3, 2001.

  1. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    ..and I'd disagree on that one.

    --Haite
     
  2. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ooooh!

    Please give me 100 more fps even though my eyes can't differeniate between speeds of 27-infinity.
     
  3. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    The only thing I want this computer for is gaming, I cant imagine trying to do anything productive on a PC.

    How much more would it cost to get 512MB of ram, and a GeForce3? What would be a good 19 inch moniter to go with it? How much is Windows 2000?

    Also, what the hell is a 'Turtle Beach Santa Cruz'?
     
  4. zxcvbnm

    zxcvbnm Peasant

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Depending on what you consult and the quality of your own eyes, you may be able to see up to 72 fps or some higher/lower number. Also, the higher the max fps you have the higher the quality you can run the game at. Getting more than 100fps also means that your framerate will stay high under even the most stressful conditions, meaning you won't have to worry about lagging suddenly during heavy combat. Even if you can't necessarily "see" the higher fps that doesn't mean that it isn't useful.
     
  5. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    hey red, this is an uninformed debate... thank you! :rolleyes: ;)
     
  6. smack

    smack Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    stuff I think is cool

    monitor gdm-fw900 (1700$ pricewatch)
    1.53 palomino (10-9-01)
    768megs crucial ddr pc2100
    asus ti500 gef3
    santa cruz soundcard or herc game theature exp(external box thing though)
    case: atc201, pc60, pc70, pc68, atc310(800$), yycube.
    don't need any fancy harddrive = barracuda4 80gig(210$)
    want scsi.. go 15k-36lp 36gig on 29160 or man3367 10krpm if you want quiet.
    Plextor PX-W2410TA Lite-On LTD-163 (storagereview recommendation)
    hsf = pal8045
     
  7. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ooohh...! That sounds like a challenge.

    /me fires up q3.

    Ok, I get 124fps in Quake3, v1.30, four.dm_66.

    This is in 1024x768x16, Trilinear filtering, highest texture res, high gemoetry detail, 16bit color and textures, everything else that I forgot to mention is cranked.

    That is under Linux. If you want to know WinXP, add ~10% fps.

    System:
    Dual AMD AthlonMP 1200Mhz
    512MB DDR ECC Registered Ram
    133/266Mhz FSB
    Geforce2 Ultra

    That should be all that is applicable.

    Now match it. Tell me what your box gets. Anyone else can toss in their scores, but make sure you've got the same visual settings as above. Oh, and r_smp == 0.

    Start you engines!
     
  8. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    It is a soundcard
     
  9. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    forgot to add, it is a great card, but it gives my friend (Charles :Currently playing as Chaos_wulf) constant crap
     
  10. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    any chance you could share some of this unlimited supply of money with the rest of us? :D
     
  11. smack

    smack Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    blech! do you actually run those settings when you play? and is your texture compression on?


    I run 16by12 in quake3 no texture compression 32bit all max everything lod curve 10000(smooth curves). I love quality :) and also fps. I'm not at home now but I think I get about 70fps on that demo. In heavy action I hit 45-50 low and with multiple bodies in the screen exploding with weapons and giblets everwhere I get 30fps ultra low end. It looks very smooth. Ideally I would never want to drop below 72fps.. I think that is the limit of where I can tell a difference and errr.. that's my monitor refresh rate on that res.

    I got a gef3 @ 228/546 mem/core and a p3/733@802 w 768megs pc133@146. I'm going to upgrade my proc/ram/mobo soon. When I do I'm hoping to be able to turn on my anistropic filtering 64sample and have it even smoother than it is now. That would look really nice.
     
  12. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    ok guys. the only way to be sure is to zip your cfg files and attach them to a post.
     
  13. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    hmm for 5000 dollars you could get this :p
    ...........
    Summary
    • Dual 800MHz PowerPC G4
    • 128MB SDRAM - 1 DIMM
    • 80GB Ultra ATA drive
    • Apple Studio Display (17" flat panel)
    • Zip 250 Drive
    • Apple SuperDrive
    • NVIDIA GeForce3 - 64MB DDR-SDRAM
    • Ultra SCSI PCI card & cable adapter
    • AirPort Card
    • Apple Pro Keyboard - U.S. English
    • Mac OS - U.S. English
    • Gigabit Ethernet
    • Two USB ports
    • Two FireWire ports
    • Apple Pro Mouse
    • Soundblaster Live
    • 3rd party ram (lots of it)
    and still have about 100$ to spend of software :)
     
  14. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Wow... that seems awfully overpriced. And he still can't use it for what he wanted the PC for in the first place.

    smack:
    No, I don't use texture compression, but otherwise, those right there are the settings I play at. Looks good to me.
     
  15. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    im not benching anything until i get something faster than this 32MB Radeon
     
  16. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    I've got a video card from a IIfx with 32 megs of video ram and the ability to display millions of colors at a Super large resolution of 1072x420 :p only 4000$ :)
     
  17. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    My Mac is outdated, if I got my hands on a) Quake 3, and b) a new Mac model (since your PC is obviously very new), then I could compare.

    --Haite
     
  18. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ah yes, I remember the days when my Rage Fury owned everything else out there for about a month (The TNT2 and Voodoo3 came out shortly afterwards if you remember). I got 60 fps in Quake 2 @ 800x600. It was awesome!

    Well, 3 years later, the ol' fury is still pushing the polygons, although it doesn't exactly compare to any of these new-fangled graphics cards with DDR and T & L. But, it continues to deliver playable frame-rates and decent graphics (Although over the years I've had to drop resolution and detail levels as newer, more intensive games come out) and never lags in games.

    My only gripe, was that until X 4.0 came out, it was a pain in the ass to configure under linux, and it still doesn't have 3d drivers for linux. Oh well, it was money well spent, and I'm not getting rid of it any time soon.
     
  19. XWRed1

    XWRed1 Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Sure it doens't have drivers? Have you checked out DRI?
     
  20. powerhouse

    powerhouse Peasant

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well, it does, but UT ran rather poorly... although, I was running kernel 2.2.12-20. It would probably be ok with 2.4.

    Is linux your primary operating system XWRed1?
     

Hitometer: 53,829,022 since 1995