Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

G5!

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Keeksy, May 2, 2001.

  1. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Motorola's PPC road map lists the G5 as having:

    -Extensible architecture
    -New pipeline
    -New bus topology
    -64 and 32-bit memory addressing,
    -0.10-micron SOI
    -2GHz+

    The chip is on schedule for an early 2002 release date.

    Apple currently has several chips in its labs. They're running on UMA2 motherboards with frontside buses set to 200MHz DDR (400MHz). Using current 0.18-micron fabrication methods, the chip runs stable at 1.3GHz!

    I'll fill you know more this evening, but I have to go. :)
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i wonder sometimes if in fact your information might be accurate and reliable. :suspect:

    You said your source is a janitor at Apple?
     
  3. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    You can download their road map.
     
  4. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I was going to say the roadmap is bogus. If you apologize, I'll finish. :)
     
  5. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    sorry :D
     
  6. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Last time i checked that roadmap the G3 ended at 450mhz.
     
  7. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    My G3 wont end until I've added cooling and clocked it up to 600mhz :D
     
  8. mud

    mud Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    600? only?
     
  9. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    right...That's only a third faster than the original speed.
     
  10. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    Watch out for that condensation Cow, I need to overclock my aging system too, why the hell not, I better not have this computer by this time next year anyway...might as well burn it up a little bit
     

Hitometer: 53,596,384 since 1995