Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

EverQuest, Session 1

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Sparhawk, Jun 3, 2001.

  1. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    yes I also would like to hear abput vpc/eq experiences also i had UO for a quite a while and it seemed to me that my cable modem dident transfer to VPC ie it was soo laggy in any internet thing in VPC it took me 5-10 mins to recall back to my house in UO
     
  2. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'm running it fine on a PII 400 w/voodoo 3/2000, so it doesn't take that much horsepower. A good mac in emulation mode should be able to run that.
     
  3. Zephor

    Zephor Peasant

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    oh well....
     
  4. Onisama

    Onisama Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    IIRC the last version of VPC I had only emulated (or was limited to, or something like that) 4mb of Vram. So games needing a card with more than that didn't run under VPC, regardless of what sort of card you had in your mac.

    Of course, I could be remembering things totally wrong.
     
  5. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    yeah VPC 4 only emulates 4MB VRAM.. until they support 3D hardware we're basically screwed
     
  6. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    basic EQ only needs 4meg but all the xpansions need 8 meg
     
  7. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    But you can still play EQ until you get to lvl 30 or so, which for me is going to be a good long while (I'm at level 6). By the time I get to 30 and need Velious or Kunark or any of the other add-ons, maybe they'll have brought out support...
     
  8. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    hmmmm mb ill get it then but does any one have any ideas about my VPC/Modem problems?
     
  9. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    The Apple side and the VPC side are competing for the ethernet port. What you have to do is disable your enet connection on the mac side before running VPC. Just switch TCP/IP over to Appletalk and switch Appletalk to the modem port and you're skippy. It's a pain, but it's been like that for a while.
     
  10. Onisama

    Onisama Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    from Connectix's "Knowledge Database":

    Some PC games won't run on VPC because the emulated PC does not meet the system requirements for the games.

    Issue:
    Some PC games won't run on VPC because the emulated PC does not meet the system requirements for the games.
    Specifically:
    Ever Quest / Everquest


    Solution:
    There is no particular bug that causes processing failure, but the applications still need to be considered incompatible for now. Future improvements in VPC and in Mac hardware may allow them to work properly, though.


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Product: Virtual PC for Mac 3
    Category: Frequently Asked Support Questions 3rd Party Compatibility Games Performance
    Article ID: 4315
    Created: 5/26/1900
    Modified: 2/14/2001


    then you go and look at VPC 4, there are disclaimers all over the place that it is not meant for gaming.
    Doesn't look like it's going to happen, perhaps a little more research is in order.
     
  11. Draco_Auric

    Draco_Auric Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    thanks Sparhawk ill try that
    and on oni's post hmmmm..... dosent look promising =C
     
  12. Onisama

    Onisama Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    keep in mind that that post is specific to VPC3, I found nothing that says VPC4 cannot do what we would like it to. I just found lots of warnings that VPC "is not made for gaming".


    If EQ has pretty low reqs (like Sparhawk has noted) it _might_ work.
     
  13. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    3d and VPC don't mix.
     
  14. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Ugh I don't even use VPC any more, it takes a lot of disk space and can't do anything useful. The only potential it has is business applications, but anything you could need is available for Mac, and if you just need to convert files then you can get some real cheap translator apps. Graphic Converter for example.

    --Haite
     
  15. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    I play diablo 2 in vpc. That's where I did all my stress testing :D
     

Hitometer: 53,585,371 since 1995