Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Elbereth?

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Keeksy, Jan 31, 2001.

  1. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Does the RS6000 workstation you have at work use Intel or PowerPC processors?

    ...Moved to general discussion. :)

    [Edited by Keeksy on 01-31-2001 at 06:11 PM]
     
  2. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Let's say we put this one back up at the top. :)
     
  3. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Is this some sort of special computer that can use x86 or PPC processors?

    Shouldn't this go to the hardware thread? Autolycus seems pretty sad since it's dead in there.
     
  4. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
  5. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    You are right Cow.

    Off with you then ...
     
  6. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I thought so. It's funny you don't use Intel processors at Intel. Just shows that Intel processors can't deliever. :D
     
  7. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    I thought that it was funny too when I started here. We are moving to Linux boxes now that will be Intel powered, but still no Windoze! These RS6k's are obscenely expensive. A dual zeon Linux box will outperform these old RS6k's for 1/10th the price of a new one. Of course the new RS6k's are even faster, but for $30000+ they aren't that much faster.
     
  8. Keeksy

    Keeksy Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    So, what chips have you worked on at Intel? Can you explain to us what happened with the P4?
     
  9. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well, the Willamette (P4) was the first chip that I worked on as a mask designer. What happened? It performs as expected. All designs are compromises. Remember you are seeing the first draft, so to speak, of an entirely new architecture. The P4's that are out now are not the same as what Intel will be putting out by the end of this year. They will also be called P4's, but will have many improvements. I go in every day and 'fix' things to make them faster or better in some way. Remember, the P2/3 started as a 200MHz Pentium Pro, and is ending up at 1GHz+. P4 has at least as much room to grow.
     
  10. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    So why are you using a mac?
     
  11. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    'Cause I like it! :D
     

Hitometer: 53,552,718 since 1995