Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Diablo 2 loves RAM!

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Rhys, Jun 2, 2001.

  1. Rhys

    Rhys Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    So I was thinking my 320MB of real RAM was plenty. Then I saw the low low prices and grabbed another 256MB for a total of 576MB. The difference in D2 is amazing. No more stutters as it loads terrain when running across the map! Now it is finally running the way I expected it to run on a G4.
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    hmmmmm... I have 320MB in my 400MHz G4. HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!! *runs off to buy mo RAM*

    hmmmmmm... I have 384MB in my PC... HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!! but I filled all my 3 slots with 128s so I could memory interleaving going with all the slots filled. :( Oh well, I'm using those guts for a new server box soon and putting a palomino with DDR in this baby when that stuff comes out. :D :D :D
     
  3. Peadur

    Peadur Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    and ram is sooooooooo cheep now! I just got mac osX at the educational price ($69) and a 256MB chip for my iMac DV from Crucial.com (very good quality memory). Guess which cost more??

    That's RIGHT!!! The RAM was only $71 after shipping, where OSX was 74. A 256 chip sells for 64.99; and its not just imac ram. I priced out cube ram, and it was the same, and I bet that g4 ram is pretty close.
     
  4. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    G4 RAM is only PC-100, I got 256 megs of PC-2100 DDR for my new PC for only $71 (shipping inc.). BTW, I'm on it right now and it's running really good.

    --Haite
     
  5. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Hmm... how much would 2 512MB sticks cost me?
     
  6. Peadur

    Peadur Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    :distress:

    sorry dude. I'm pretty sure those were still pretty expensive. I'm thinking they are like $400 each.:eek:
    but if you got the cash.....
     
  7. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
  8. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    So for $142 i could get my G4 to 1.5GB? Sweet. I just might do that.
     
  9. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    oh, your 733 G4 takes PC133 RAM. Those are $66 for a 512meg chip. lol
     
  10. Vokbain

    Vokbain Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Based on my experience, the cheaper the ram, the more crashes you get. I would pay any less then 150 bucks for a 512.
     
  11. Rhys

    Rhys Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    valueram

    buy kingston or valueram (which actually may be made by kingston) or just make sure you get your ram from Macsolutions.com. They are not the cheapest, but they are competitive, and they sell only good stuff. I've had zero bad sticks of ram from them and have probably purchased 20GB worth in the past year.
     
  12. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    crucial is supposed to be excellent and very cheap.
     
  13. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yes. Go crucial. Cheap, they're pro mac and are very good. Fast shipping (free too, to canada!) small package. High quality stuff. Go to crucial
     
  14. Peadur

    Peadur Peasant

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    all my ram is crucial (including the 256 I just got for $70), and I love it, but I just price checked and their 512's are $400. I dont know that I would buy $64 ram, but I sure dont have $800 to drop. Maybe if you cross your fingers, the price will drop.
    ... lots...
    ....... and soon....:suspect:
     
  15. Rhys

    Rhys Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    macsolutions.com

     SDPC133512  512MB PC-133 SDRAM     $135.00    FOR 2001 G4 POWERMACS 466,533,667,733MHZ
     
  16. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    omg...so cheap. I still have one more slot free. Maybe I should buy a 512mb. Then i'll have a 128mb pc-100, 128mb pc-100, 256mb pc-133, 512mb pc-133



    mmmmmm.... :drool:
     
  17. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    In other words with 4 slots you could only come up with 1 GB :p?

    --Haite
     
  18. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Exactly, which is all my G3 can handle...i think.
     

Hitometer: 53,558,153 since 1995