Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Cromptar Arrivar!

Discussion in 'PC Forum' started by Mentosman24, Sep 13, 2002.

  1. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    It came. I'm happy.
     
  2. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
  3. MisterHalleck

    MisterHalleck Peasant

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,746
    Likes Received:
    15
    Market Rating:
    0
    specs plz???

    <------ roflmao
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 13, 2002
  4. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    You can't be an avatar thief, I already stole this avatar from jake on another site he posts at.
     
  5. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    :yeah:
     
  6. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    P4 2.4 GHZ with 533 bus

    256 MB PC 800 Ram

    80 GB Harddrive @ 7200 RPM

    DVD ROM and 16X CD-RW (Other numbers I forget)

    Geforce 4 Ti4600 64 MB

    Harmon/Kardon speakers, 2 satellites and Sub

    Using my old monitor, standard keyboard, old mouse, etc etc.
     
  7. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yuo giev now.

    I would've got 512mb. I'm feeling the limits of 256mb. Both battlefield 1942 and asheron's call 2 max me out.

    I'll be getting another stick soon.
     
  8. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    $ was an issue too. After rebate, comp was $1068.03

    Also, the speakers are a real highlight for me, my old ones are 9 years old.
     
  9. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    OIC.

    That's not a bad computer. Hopefully you have a nice monitor to go with it.
     
  10. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    It's my old 17" Hitachi. It works great for what I do. As far as Mouse, Keyboard, Speakers, and Monitor, I only upgrade when I need to.

    I'm like the mountaineer of the Computer World...The guy with the beard that lives in a cabin in some frozen wasteland with lots of trees that does something only when he needs to.

    Like this guy!
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2002
  11. Strader

    Strader Peasant

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    :twitch: *shudder*
     
  12. gigapower

    gigapower Peasant

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    shouldn't that be 128MB?
     
  13. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    yes
     
  14. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Depends on the card maker, I've seen 64 meg Ti4600's.
     
  15. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    This is a 64 Megger :mad:
     
  16. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,757
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    it won't make much difference unless you are running games in extreme high resolutions (1600+).
     
  17. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I normally run in 1024x768. I like to max out Q3 though with everything possible, just to see how quickly I can make my system crash and burn :arcade: :D
     
  18. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Quake 3 is actually kind of old now. The really high-res textures in new games like UT2003, and moreso Doom 3 and Quake 4, are what will stress memory and bandwidth.
     
  19. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Eeeeew. Which means you wont be able to use the best quality textures on big games.
     
  20. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    With the exception of the test version of UT2003 out right now, what else am I going to test on besides Q3? I'm running 3DMark 2001 right now.

    //edit: According to 3DMark, my graphics card does infact have 128 MB Ram :p
     

Hitometer: 53,721,173 since 1995