Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Anyone got an iBook yet?

Discussion in 'Mac' started by Jakeman, May 27, 2001.

  1. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    I want to get one but I want to know how well OS X runs on it. We haven't got any at CompUSA yet so I can't mess with one.
     
  2. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    nope.. might drop my ass in the car and do the 4 hour drive up to the apple store to play with one
     
  3. Elbereth

    Elbereth MSC Commander and Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2000
    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    14
    Market Rating:
    0
    I'm waiting until after MW expo, then it will be mine.
     
  4. Lurk

    Lurk Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    47
    Market Rating:
    0
    I have a question...

    If I buy the baseline iBook from Apple's website and I BTO it with 128 MB of RAM, do I get a soldered 64 and a removeable 64, or do I get a soldered 128 like the upper models have?
     
  5. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Probably soldered 128.
     
  6. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    they have two different boards with different ammounts of soldered RAM? I would think that all of them would have 64MB soldered. They all have the same processor and everything else. By having the same ammount of soldered RAM it would make production costs and the simplicity of the whole works a lot better.

    besides, the new iBooks have two available slots as well as the soldered RAM.
     
  7. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Maybe they have one board with no ram on it. Then when ordered they solder on the specified amount. Ever think of that? Smartguy!
     
  8. Lurk

    Lurk Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    47
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yep.

    Nope, unless the info on Apple's own website is out of date.


    Here is what Apple's tech specs sheet for the iBook says about memory...

    It says there's only one slot. Notice the difference in max expandable RAM. If you start with 128 your max is 64 higher. That tells me that the two starting configs are soldered. I agree, Jake, it seems strange, but I don't know how else to interpret this. Anyone else have input here? Auto?

    P.S. I am thinking of getting the base model, that's why I ask. I'd like to know what my memory is going to look like if I order it with 128 instead of 64.
     
  9. Autolycus

    Autolycus Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    20
    Market Rating:
    0
    as far as i know lurk's right, but if there's any doubt i could ask someone who would know..
     
  10. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    hahaha! 512MB SODIMMs. Sure, I'll take two! $$$ :D
     

Hitometer: 53,585,684 since 1995