Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Angry Internet

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Mentosman24, Feb 2, 2002.

  1. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    My ISP is Comcast. They decided that they were going to an "upgrade" to their cable.

    It totally messed me up.

    After three hours one night frantically trying to fix my dad's network and get the internet back up and arguing with stupid techs over the phone (really, these guys are the definition dumb) I finally got the network back up with the help of Knifehim. (TY very much)

    The next morning I come home and my parents say "Internet's back up". Boy they couldn't have been more wrong. The connection flutters in and out. About 20 seconds of every minute it will load games correctly. The other 40 seconds are spend giving me "Could not connect" and the like kind of messages.

    Comcast also gave my school the run-around about not letting us change our own network settings to accomidate the network. To them, it was all about the modem and no one else mattered. We promptly told them to get the **** out of the school.

    Should I try to find someone else for Internet Access or go back to a RELIABLE 56K for a day or two?
     
  2. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    One thing I forgot to mention: Why they did the "upgrade".

    People were hosting games through the Cable Lines. Comcast decided it was sucking up too much bandwidth and they wanted to stop that from happening. They now made it so that everytime all computers hooked up to the modem are turned off, the IP number will change, or periodically change, I forget which.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2002
  3. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    So they just switched from a static network to a DHCP network.

    SCARY! Just don't turn off your computer and you'll always have the same IP like me.
     
  4. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    it's either bad phone lines or a bad ISP.
     
  5. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    Bad ISP... I was over at his house for Q3 and D2 and this thing would flip out after like 5 minutes of playing and we would ALL get disconnected for about 20 minutes...
     
  6. Jaco

    Jaco Peasant

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Are you sure you aren't just unplugging it and plugging it in over and over again without knowing it? Are you on drugs?
     
  7. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    :rofl:
     
  8. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    yeah, stop poppin those mentos... bad stuff :eek:
     
  9. Wulf

    Wulf MSC Knight and Donator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,856
    Likes Received:
    10
    Market Rating:
    0
    Yeah, we all know ALTOIDS are better :)
     
  10. SpocKirk

    SpocKirk Forum Moderator and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    25
    Market Rating:
    0
    nah, Sen-sen and lemon Smints are the best
     
  11. KnifeHim

    KnifeHim Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    lol I can just see myself sitting there pluging it in and out and yelling,"Why isn't it working?"
     
  12. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    i've seen people doing that with ports that aren't hot-plugable. good way to fry a port. the best one is SCSI. :retard:
     
  13. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2002
  14. KnifeHim

    KnifeHim Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
  15. KnifeHim

    KnifeHim Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    nah I use to hot swap my scsi port all the time :nod: still no problems here..... :p
     
  16. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    :eek:
     
  17. Mentosman24

    Mentosman24 Peasant

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Sounds, perhaps, Pr0nographic?
     
  18. TragicJester

    TragicJester Peasant

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    men-tos
    ment-os
    nope, im not getting any erotic undertones from it
     
  19. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    men-sex-tos

    Ahhhhh! :eek: :run:

    --Haite
     

Hitometer: 53,842,748 since 1995