Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

Alice

Discussion in 'Mac' started by OsIriS, Aug 30, 2001.

  1. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    has anyone played Alice yet? I'm thinking of buying it, but it's such a dicey type of game.
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    no multiplayer = suxorz

    but the graphics and plot are wicked
     
  3. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    She don't live here anymore. :D
     
  4. OsIriS

    OsIriS Peasant

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2000
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    5
    Market Rating:
    0
    multiplayer isn't that big a deal, since I get really shitty bandwidth at school, I mean come on...46kbps off a dedicated T3 server running of LAN...and that's not download rates either, we're talking strickly receiving packets. My DL rates are at best 10k/s no joke....freakin' priority settings, my first year here I could download at 300k/s easily, now I'm lucky to crack 6.
     
  5. angus_prune

    angus_prune Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    I hope its ok,I've ordered it.I've also ordered VPC.Can someone tell me if Everquest will work with it.
     
  6. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    I was bitchslapped and told no, so I'm assuming not, because of the graphics emulation problems.
     
  7. Haite

    Haite Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    9,325
    Likes Received:
    34
    Market Rating:
    0
    Depends on your computer, VPC is an emulator, so it'll never run at speeds your computer can get running Mac apps. It doesn't have any hardware video card support now either, so you probably won't have the best of luck with games. If you've got a 500 or faster G4 then it should run decently.

    --Haite
     
  8. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    the main concern is how much video memory does the game require. i think VPC only emulates like 6 megs of video memory, could be wrong. but if the game requires 8 megs and VPC only emulates 6 then it no worky, guaranteed.
     
  9. angus_prune

    angus_prune Peasant and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0

    Oh bum,still there's always the old ADDs and Infocom text adventures.
     

Hitometer: 53,587,670 since 1995