Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

About Classic

Discussion in 'Mac' started by gekko, Feb 27, 2001.

  1. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    How exactly does classic run? I was looking at upgradng NetBarrier to version 2, but i realized that their Mac OS X version won't be avaliable until Q3.

    But i thought i read somewhere that you need to boot up classic and it takes just as long as it would on OS 9. If this is the case, would something like a firewall force me to load 2 OSs everytime i turn on my computer?

    I really have too many questions...
     
  2. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    Although a firewall is useful, you'll never need one unless you piss off some hacker dude.

    Just wait for an os x version of a firewall or get a hardware firewall in the form of a router, like me.
     
  3. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    You realize that every hardware router has a backdoor built into it that any hacker who knows his stuff can get through, don't you? The only true way to protect your comp is to run NAT translation (IPNetrouter) on a Mac w/o Appleshare IP installed...
     
  4. cowofwar

    cowofwar Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,721
    Likes Received:
    18
    Market Rating:
    0
    mmmhmm...I'm sure some hardcore hacker is going to go after me :rolleyes:
     
  5. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Well i use a LinkSys router, but i don't have the router part of it setup. I want to, but gotta call in the MAC address still.

    For now i just go through the uplink port, which i believe wouldn't do anything for a firewall.
     
  6. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Doesn't have to be a hardcore hacker, the information is readily available on any of the script kiddie boards...
     
  7. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    :evil: muhahaha.
     
  8. gekko

    gekko Peasant

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    LOL! Have you ever even seen a hardcore hacker that uses a Mac?
     
  9. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    hardcore hacker. hehe.

    Hackers don't "hack" anything, they just know their shit. If you REALLY KNOW a the thing you are hacking then you probably know how to get through the back door to jack some stuff. It's just a matter of being VERY knowledgable. That's all a hacker is... plus the bad intentions. :)

    A Mac is one of the better hacking platforms out there, not in terms of hacking ability, but in terms of immunity from those trying to hack you.
     

Hitometer: 53,855,470 since 1995