Portal   Forum   Members   Market   Gallery   Events

3D renderers?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Sparhawk, Apr 26, 2001.

  1. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    Has anyone here used a 3D renderer like 3D Studio Max or Lightwave? I'm looking to raytrace a model of the Statue of Liberty for a project I'm doing, but have no experience in that sort of thing. Suggestions welcomed.
     
  2. Jakeman

    Jakeman MSC Founder and Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2000
    Messages:
    25,758
    Likes Received:
    27
    Market Rating:
    16
    my bro does a lot of that stuff on his PC (booo! :p ). He goes by the name smack on these forums. I'll ask him tonight.
     
  3. BaleFire

    BaleFire MSC Footman

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    4
    Market Rating:
    0
    strata 3d is a cool program (and it's freeware :)(I think)) that is if you were asking for a program.
     
  4. zxcvbnm

    zxcvbnm Peasant

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Market Rating:
    0
    Do you mean you want to model the statue from scratch? That seems like it would be pretty hard to do if you never have used a modeler before. If you already have the model you could just open it, position the camera, and render.
     
  5. Sparhawk

    Sparhawk Peasant

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    3
    Market Rating:
    0
    I have the model, I'm not crazy after all... anyway, I wonder if Strata 3D would import 3DS Max meshes?
     

Hitometer: 53,847,863 since 1995